An Old Poem

I wrote this several years ago and recently came across it in a book it was published in.

Depression

By Pereza R. Thompson

Darkness falls,
Surrounds my soul,
Taking me deeper into
The quiescent abyss.
Imaginary hands of pain
Dominate my ability.
I need air.
I need to breathe again.
Fear of impending doom
Tears away at my being.
I ponder where to go
To escape this constant agony.
Alas, I am alone
In this ebon world.
Treading in the murky deep,
Gasping for air,
My tears go undiscerned
As further I wane.
There is no redemption
For a soul squandered forever.

One response to “An Old Poem

Leave a Reply

