Review: (ARC) The Haunted Housewives of Allister, Alabama (Cleo Tidwell Paranormal Mystery #1)

The Haunted Housewives of Allister, Alabama (Cleo Tidwell Paranormal Mystery #1)
by Susan Abel Sullivan (Goodreads Author)

“When Cleo Tidwell said, “I do,” for the third time, she had no idea her marriage vows would be tested by a tacky piece of art. But Cleo’s not the kind of woman to let a velvet-offense-against-good-taste just hang–oh no, she’s on a mission to oust the King. Trouble is, Elvis won’t leave the building. And he’s attractin’ all manner of kooks, fanatics, and lookie loos to Cleo’s doorstep, including the entire congregation of the Church of the Blue Suede Shoes.

Everyone wants a piece of the painting, but Cleo’s starting to suspect that whatever’s haunting the Velvet Elvis wants a piece of her husband. Why else would her hubby trade in his car for a ’56 pink Caddy, moonlight as an Elvis impersonator, and develop a sudden hankering for fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches? Certainly it can’t be anything as simple as a mid-life crisis, because Cleo is not getting divorced again–her mother would never let her hear the end of it.

Cleo’s life is all shook up by crazies with death threats, psychic warnings “from beyond,” kidnapping attempts, invitations to join the Blue Shoe Loonies, and even murder! Cleo’s in a fight for her life, her marriage, and the perseverance of good taste everywhere.” via Goodreads

I must say that I was very skeptical about reading this book.  I mean, come on, a haunted velvet Elvis?  I was pleasantly surprised, though! This book is full of twists and turns that I did not expect.  I love how Sullivan incorporated the King of Rock n’ Roll into a paranormal story.  She cleverly infused Elvis trivia in ways that cascaded beautifully with the plot.  The southern euphemisms throughout the book had me rolling. 

I really enjoyed this read.  The way Sullivan told the story made me feel like I was actually watching it all unfold before my eyes instead of just words on a page.  I would recommend this to anyone who is into paranormal or Elvis. I see Sullivan with a lustrous future in regards to continuing this series.

Leave a Reply

